There are three main kinds of Kentucky HVAC licenses:
To get the Journeyman HVAC Mechanic License, you need to pass special examinations, where you demonstrate all your skills and knowledge in this field. Plus, you should submit a paper that certifies you have already worked for 3,000 hours. Another paper certifies that you worked for two years under the instructions of the licensed master contractor.
For getting the Master HVAC Contractor License, you should show the certificate that you worked as a journeyman for at least two years. The main requirement to apply for this license is the level of your knowledge of the codes, laws and, regulations. You should also pass two exams and pay for liability insurance of nearly $500,000. As you have already noticed, getting a Master HVAC Contractor License may be difficult. This is because before applying, you should already have the Journeyman License.
The last type is the Apprentice License. That is the hardest license to get so far. It is mainly because before applying for this license, you should have both Journeyman HVAC Mechanic License and Master HVAC Contractor License. To get the license, you should show the signed certificates of both licenses.
HVAC technicians get their licenses from the Department of Housing, Buildings, and Construction.
There is good news about this. So basically, you can get an HVAC license in Kentucky without studying in a special school. You can just work and study for the exams on your own. Moreover, a lot of employers pay attention to this and choose technicians that study in college. It is important to note that many colleges specialize in this branch.
Here is the list of those schools:
The cost of these schools ranges between $1,200 to $15,000. The training course is usually between 6-12 months.
Yes, it certainly has. In Kentucky, technicians should renew their licenses annually. However, after the first application, submission for the HVAC license gets easier to prepare documents for the next one. That is because you already know the steps and get used to the renewal process.
The answer is “yes”. It does not matter whether you are a master HVAC contractor or just a journeyman HVAC mechanic. Kentucky’s law requires you to apply for your license renewal by the last day of your birth month every year.
In general, there are only two easy steps to renew a license.
If you miss the deadline for the application, your license will be considered as expired. However, if in the next two months you will complete the six hours of training and send them all other documents, there is still a chance that they will accept it. But you will pay a fee for sending the application late. The fee is different for all types of licenses.